2013 Leaders in Health Care: Overview


Welcome to Seattle Business magazine’s fifth celebration of extraordinary achievement in health care. Since 2009, we have honored individuals and organizations for making heroic contributions to the well being of people the world over through enormous dedication, groundbreaking research and thoughtful stewardship. And each year we have been overwhelmed by their remarkable exploits. The 2013 Leaders in Health Care Awards honor an outstanding class of 25 in fields ranging from medical research and community outreach to health care practitioners and lifetime achievement. All of the recipients described on the following pages herald a health care system that prizes patient dignity, research integrity and community enrichment. We applaud their commitment as we champion their accomplishment.

Winner: Margaret Stanley, Board Chair,Washington Health Benefit Exchange

Winner: Robert Thompson, M.D., Valley Medical Center/Renton RotaCare Clinic
Silver Award: Jane Dimer, M.D., Chief of Women’s Health, Group Health Cooperative
Silver Award: Anthony Back, M.D., Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center/Seattle Cancer Care Alliance

Winner: Mark Secord, Executive Director/CEO, Neighborcare Health
Silver Award: Scott Bosch, President/CEO, Harrison Medical Center
Silver Award: Norm Hubbard, Chair, Seattle Cancer Care Alliance

Winner: Rainer Storb, M.D., Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center/Seattle Cancer Care Alliance
Silver Award: William Catterall, M.D, UW Medicine
Silver Award: Paul O’Donnell, M.D., Seattle Cancer Care Alliance

Winner: Mobisante Inc.
Silver Award: Advanced Medical Isotope Corporation

Silver Award: Impel NeuroPharma

Winner: Alder Biopharmaceuticals
Silver Award: OncoGenex Pharmaceuticals

Silver Award: Adaptive Biotechnologies Corporation

Winner: Infectious Disease Research Institute (IDRI)
Silver Award: SIGN Fracture Care International
Silver Award: Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME), University of Washington

Winner: Pioneer Square Clinic/Harborview Medical Center
Silver Award: YMCA of Greater Seattle
Silver Award: Asian Counseling and Referral Service (ACRS)

Winner: King County

Silver Award: Faculty & Staff Wellness Program, Western Washington University
Silver Award: Swedish Wellness Works, Swedish Medical Center

Judges for the 2013 Leaders in Health Care Awards

Leo Greenawalt, retired president, Washington State Hospital Association

Mary McWilliams, executive director, Puget Sound Health Alliance

Joseph Phillips, dean, Albers School of Business and Economics, Seattle University

Chris Rivera, president, Washington Biotechnology & Biomedical Association

Roger Stark, M.D., health care policy analyst, Washington Policy Center

Seattle Business Magazine to Honor 18 Outstanding Leaders in Health Care

Seattle Business Magazine to Honor 18 Outstanding Leaders in Health Care

Honorees to be celebrated on March 2.

Seattle Business magazine has announced finalists for its 2017 Leaders in Health Care Awards. Chosen by a panel of judges, the finalists are individuals and institutions leading the effort to improve Washington's health care sector. This year's finalists are:

1.    Benaroya Research Institute at Virginia Mason
2.    Al Fisk, MD, The Everett Clinic
3.    Genoa
4.    Group Health Cooperative
5.    Cynthia Hecker, Northwest Hospital & Medical Center
6.    Bryce Helgerson, Legacy Salmon Creek Medical Center
7.    Norm Hubbard, Seattle Cancer Care Alliance
8.    Peter Myles McGough, MD, UW Medicine
9.    Navos
10.  Pacific Medical Centers
11.  Oliver W. Press, MD, PhD, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
12.  Paul Ramsey, MD, UW Medicine
13.  SCI Solutions
14.  Seattle Genetics
15.  Preston Simmons, FACHE, Providence Health & Services, Everett
16.  Jeffrey J. Tomlin, MD, EvergreenHealth
17.  Virginia Mason Medical Center
18.  Wellpepper

Gold and silver award winners will be honored at the Leaders in Health Care Awards gala on March 2 at Bell Harbor International Conference Center in Seattle. Winners will be recognized in a variety of categories, including Outstanding Medical Center Executive, Achievement in Community Outreach and Innovation in Health Care Delivery. For more information, contact Michael Romoser at michael.romoser@tigeroak.com. West Monroe Partners is presenting sponsor for the 2017 Leaders in Health Care Awards program.