The Winners: Seattle Business Magazine's 2019 Washington Manufacturing Awards

See the full list of honorees here

This article appears in the May 2019 issue. See more about the winners of the 2019 Washington Manufacturing Awards hereClick here for a free subscription.

At last year’s Washington Manufacturing Awards banquet, Vigor Industrial Chief Executive Officer Frank Foti, having heard many of the stories of fellow honorees, exclaimed in his own acceptance speech, “We make some cool stuff.”

Except he didn’t say stuff. Instead, he used a somewhat more R-rated term that, while perhaps lacking in refinement, conveyed an appreciation for what Washington manufacturers do.

The men and women at these companies make cool stuff, often in inventive, innovative and environmentally friendly ways. If manufacturing today is reclaiming some status as cool, here are the people and companies making that happen.

Manufacturing Company of the Year, Small

GOLD: King Machine LLC
SILVER: Aspen Power Catamarans

Manufacturing Company of the Year, Large

GOLD: Safe Boats International LLC
SILVER: Cedar Groove Composting Inc.

Food & Beverage Processor of the Year

GOLD: Skagit Valley Malting LLC
SILVER: Pasco Processing LLC

Emerging Manufacturer of the Year

Slayer Espresso

Green Manufacturer of the Year

Silfab Solar Inc.

Building Trades Manufacturer of the Year

GOLD: Henrybuilt
SILVER: Cabinet Tech LLC

Innovator of the Year

GOLD: Bogert Manufacturing Inc.
Silver: Techni-Grip

Nonprofit Manufacturer of the Year

The Lighthouse for the Blind Inc.

Legacy Manufacturer of the Year

North Star Ice Equipment Corporation

Executive of the Year, Small Company

Tom Miller: president, Western Industrial Tooling Inc., Redmond

Executive of the Year, Large Company

Debbie Lee: CEO, Tool Gauge Tacoma

Lifetime Achievement Award

Loren Lyon: president, Lyon Enterprises; former president and center director, Impact Washington

Tom McLaughlin: executive director, Center for Advanced Manufacturing Puget Sound (CAMPS)

2019 Washington Manufacturing Awards Judges

Sharon Gregory, partner, Moss Adams
Loren Lyon, president, Lyon Enterprises; former president/director, Impact Washington
Tom McLaughlin, executive director, Center for Advanced Manufacturing Puget Sound (CAMPS)
Hillary Parker, principal, Clark Nuber
Bill Virgin, Seattle Business magazine columnist/writer
Tab Wilkins, president/director, Impact Washington

Related Content

The company, which employs 270 people, was founded by Bill Hansen and Scott Peterson and is still owned by the duo, along with a group of other investors

Tom McLaughlin of CAMPS

Congratulations to Tom McLaughlin, executive director of Center for Advanced Manufacturing Puget Sound (CAMPS) and Loren Lyon, president of Lyon Enterprises and former president and center director of Impact Washington

President of Mukilteo's King Machine, Keith Mehus

Gold: King Machine LLC, Mukilteo; Silver: Aspen Power Catamarans, Burlington

Gold: Safe Boats International LLC, Bremerton; Silver: Cedar Grove Composting Inc., Seattle