The 2015 Washington Manufacturing Awards

By BILL VIRGIN April 28, 2015


What makes a company or a manufacturing executive worthy of recognition as one of Seattle Business magazines Washington Manufacturing Awards recipients?

That was the big-picture question the judges wrestled with as they sifted through the many nominations of excellent candidates. The panel concluded that while the companies they selected may differ in size, age and what they make, they share some common traits:

A continuous record of innovation and improvement.
An unwillingness to coast on legacy.
Enthusiasm for remaking the business, if thats what customers, the market and competition call for.
Attention to detail in internal operations.
Constantly asking the question whats next?

Here are the 2015 honorees, and how they exemplify those traits.

Manufacturer of the Year

Large Firms

Winner: Romac Industries, Bothell

Silver Award: Rainier Industries, Tukwila

Midsize Firms

Winner: Omax Corporation, Kent

Silver Award: Lucks Food Decorating Co., Tacoma

Small Firms

Winner: Torklift International, Sumner

Silver Award: WaterTectonics, Everett

Manufacturing Executive of the Year

Large Firms

Winner: Tuanhai Hoang, president, Qualitel Corporation, Everett

Small Firms

Winner: Lisa Chissus, owner and president, CFM Consolidated, Fife

Emerging Manufacturer of the Year

Winner: Fathom, Seattle

Silver Award: Blue Frog Solar, Poulsbo

Manufacturing Innovator of the Year

Large Firms

Winner: Aseptico, Woodinville

Small Firms

Winner: Breedt Production Tooling & Design, Kent

Food/Beverage Processor of the Year

Large Firms

Winner: Tree Top, Selah

Midsize Firms

Winner: Talking Rain Beverage Co., Preston

Small Firms

Winner: Seattle Chocolates, Seattle

Building Trades

Winner: Henrybuilt, Seattle

Manufacturing Services

Winner: Morley Machine Tool Alignment, Milton

Heritage Award

Winner: Physio-Control, Redmond

2015 Judges

David McGiverin, president, Northwest Food Processors Association
Thomas McLaughlin, executive director, Center for Advanced Manufacturing Puget Sound (CAMPS)
Barbara Mead, partner, Moss Adams
Ron Rauch, shareholder, Clark Nuber
John Vicklund, former president, Impact Washington
Bill Virgin, editor and publisher, Washington Manufacturing Alert
Gary White, director of business retention and expansion, Tri-City Development Council (TRIDEC)

Follow Us