Theresa Sullivan: The 2020 Leaders in Health Care Gold Award Winner for Outstanding Medical Center Executive Outside Puget Sound

Sullivan is the chief executive officer of Samaritan Healthcare

This article appears in print in the March 2020 issue. See more about the winners of the 2020 Leaders in Healthcare Awards here. Click here for a free subscription.

Gold Award
Theresa Sullivan, Chief Executive Officer, Samaritan Healthcare, Moses Lake

Since Theresa Sullivan took the reins of Samaritan Healthcare five years ago, the organization has recruited 20 physicians and providers — including three surgeons — and opened a second clinic for the underserved population in Moses Lake that offers primary and urgent care.

Sullivan played a key role in creating and launching the Grand Columbia Health Alliance, a partnership among six regional, publicly owned health care organizations. She also provided key leadership in launching Moses Lake Lead, an economic development organization consisting of community leaders working to create a vision for the future of Moses Lake.

Sullivan also is leading efforts to develop and construct a new medical campus for Samaritan Healthcare, as well as a new electronic medical-records system.

The American Hospital Association gave Sullivan its “Grassroots Champion Award” in 2018 for her efforts to educate elected officials on the importance of the hospital in the community. The association cited Sullivan’s leadership in bringing orthopedics, podiatry, OB/GYN services, pediatrics, a remodeled emergency department and expanded family medicine to the region.

“We are committed to developing healthy communities,” Sullivan says. “We all believe rural communities should have equal access.”

Related Content

Expanding the horizons of medical care is all in a day's work for these health care heroes

Expanding the horizons of medical care is all in a day's work for these health care heroes

The Silver Award goes to health care tech firm Twistle

Shendure serves as a professor of genome sciences at the University of Washington and as the scientific program director at the Brotman Baty Institute for Precision Medicine

The Silver Award winners are UW Medicine and VA Puget Sound Health Care System; and Adaptive Biotechnologies